Saint Luke’s is closing 2 community hospitals in Johnson County

SHAWNEE, Kan. – Saint Luke’s Health System plans to close two community hospital locations in Johnson County by the end of the year.

Saint Luke’s will close its community hospitals in Olathe and Shawnee. Those two locations will still offer emergency care until Dec. 23, but inpatient care will be closed before then.

Employees affected by the hospital closings will have the opportunity to stay with Saint Luke’s, the health system said in a news release. Saint Luke’s did not disclose how many employees were affected.

Saint Luke’s said the closings are part of a “strategic plan” to focus on higher-volume locations and continue to provide high-quality emergency care where there is demand.

Saint Luke’s first opened a community hospital in 2018 to combat overcrowded emergency rooms at the KC area’s largest hospital. Bobby Olm-Shipman, CEO of Saint Luke’s south and east region, said the location has been “very well received by patients.”

“We want to make sure we’re focusing on the locations that are experiencing the highest demand so we can serve patients where they need it most,” Olm-Shipman said.

But this isn’t the first place Saint Luke’s has closed in recent years. In 2020, the health system is closing two community hospitals in Overland Park: one at 75th Street and Metcalf Avenue and the other at 159th Street and 69 Highway.

Saint Luke’s is also closing Cushing Hospital in Leavenworth in 2020, due to the financial impact of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The health system currently has three community hospitals that will remain open:

  • Leawood – 132nd Street and State Line Road
  • The Legend at KCK – 106th Street and Parallel Parkway
  • Roeland Park – Johnson Drive and Roe Avenue

📲 Download the FOX4 News app to stay updated on the go.
📧 Sign up for FOX4 email alerts to get the latest news delivered to your inbox.
💻 Find today’s top stories on for Kansas City and all of Kansas and Missouri.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *